Flying with live video

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by BlackhawkBeagle, Jan 29, 2018.

1. BlackhawkBeagle

BlackhawkBeagle New Member

Hello Everyone!

I am new to quadcopter's and know there is MUCH to learn about them. I have been flying my MJX x400 for about a month now and slowly getting better each day, but have not mastered it yet.

My questions is with flying the drone by only looking at the live video stream. How? lol

Is there any tips and tricks to this? I know this may sound extremely simple, but I seem to be having an issue properly navigating my surrounds when I am not actually physically looking at the drone itself. Not to mention the .5-1 sec delay in video streaming is making me question if this is even possible with this drone. Through the camera itself I cannot tell how much room I actually have on either side, nor can I properly judge the distance I am away from the controller.

Any tips help!

2. Dugdog47

Dugdog47 Well-Known Member

I've been flyin. R.C. helicopters for ten years and can do line of sight flying fairly well.

What you are talking about is FPV flying (first person view).

Fpv is a while different ball game that throws line of sight flying out the window.

The only solid advice I can give is to ditch the wi fi camera and get a 5.8g setup that transmits in real time-no delay.

BlackhawkBeagle likes this.
  3. BlackhawkBeagle

BlackhawkBeagle New Member

Hey Dugdog! Thank you for the advice! I am actually already looking into a camera upgrade. Do you have any recommendations for a 5.8g setup? Also, I expect there would be a weight difference with a camera upgrade. How may this effect the flight of the drone itself?

4. Dugdog47

Dugdog47 Well-Known Member

Well I'm not sure about upgrading a camera on a wi fi drone, it might be possible if you're good at soldering which I am not.

What I did was buy a new quad that already had a camera that transmits on 5.8g and bought a display screen that clamps onto the controller.