New to drones, a lot of questions (Massachusetts and FAA laws?).

Discussion in 'Safety & Regulation' started by NancyBot, Jul 29, 2017.

1. NancyBot

NancyBot New Member

Im sure a lot of this has been discussed in previous threads, but I have a lot of individual questions that I've been trying to get definitive answers on for several days.

I just got my first drone, a GoPro Karma, and I'm trying to ensure I don't break any regulations so I can avoid he hefty fines that the FAA put in place. These regulations seem to be all over the place.

I'm from Massachusetts. I know that you need to obtain permission from air control towers when flying in the vecinity of an airport (5 miles). I also know that you can not fly near other people or buildings. My concern comes with licenses.

I am a hobbyist. I do not fly commercially. So here are my questions:

1. Do I need a license or permit to fly my drone for recreation? (I hear a lot about having to pass a test, etc. is this just for commercial use?)

2. Do I need to register my drone as a hobbyist?

3. If I do not need to register it, and I do not need a license, where can I fly without being hassled by authorities/park rangers/FAA?

4. Can someone be fined for posting a video or photo online from flying in a restricted area? How are these people being caught and fined thousands of dollars?

5. If I would like to fly near an airport, and I call to get permission, what happens if there are several airports within 5 miles? (Including hospitals, landing sites, etc). Do I need to notify every single one, or just one tower?

6. Has anyone else flown or owned a drone in MA? Where have you flown and have you had any trouble?

Thanks!

2. Rick M

Rick M Absent-minded professor

My thoughts (USA):

1. No. There is a licensing requirement if you fly in FURTHERANCE of a commercial enterprise. That's probably best interpreted as 'If any commercial enterprise benefits in any way from my flight, I had to be licensed to do it'.