Help with FPV System

Discussion in 'FPV Systems' started by Bumfluff12345, Jan 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bumfluff12345

Bumfluff12345 Member

Hi all,

I am new to the forum and i have joined to ask for some help with a project i have wanted to undertake for ages. I am building a 250 FPV racing drone and i want to try and develop a system similar to DJI's where i can take a video signal from my quad and see the live feed on my iphone. I realise that an iphone cannot just take raw video signals and that it would require an app of some sort along with some sort of circuitry on the receiver end. Any help would be highly appreciated. I have no experience in mobile app decelopment, although i am a quick and willing learner. Thanks in advance for any help given.

2. Jackson

Jackson USA member at large

Why? That is a very unreliable way to do it. The usual 5.8G system you see on racing quads is much better.

If you want to try it get a WiFi camera like this one.

3. Bumfluff12345

Bumfluff12345 Member

Hi man thanks for the reply. I realise this is unconventional, but i like the idea of this setup as its convenient. Wifi doesnt have a long enough range, it also has a bit more latency i would say. I like a challenge and dji's lightbridge system is very very easy to use and reliable.

4. holtneil

holtneil Well-Known Member Moderator

Hi the syma drones have a camera thats wifi they also have an app to link to it off the phone , the great thing is you can link as many phones to it as you like all at the same time , go to the app store and look at the syma app one of the easiest to use out there

5. GJH105775

GJH105775 Avid Linux User, and U.S. Air Force 1C6x1 Moderator

802.11 is not ideal for FPV when you want any type of range. If you wanted you could make a little Rx/transponder/adapter that Received 5.8 GHz Analog video and re transmitted video over 2.4 GHz 802.11 protocols.