Drone randomly over flips when rolling

Discussion in 'Build & Tune' started by eleryfpv, Jun 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. eleryfpv

eleryfpv New Member

Hey guys/girls, first post here.

Recently built an Elf X2 with the HGLRC all-in-one flight contorller. flies great but whenever I do a roll, whenever i come out of it, it will randomly pitch forward a bit or over roll.

I can only assume that this is something wrong with the PIDs (D value may be?)

Unfortunately cannot post the link due to a new account!

Attached Files:

2. RENOV8R

RENOV8R Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum! I think you're on the right track in thinking that you need to raise your D term some. I'm no expert on PID tuning but here's a little cheat sheet that should help you get a better tune. Hope it helps

#1 - Bounce back on rolls or flip. If the quad overshoot and then bounce back, Increases D for the affect axis.

#2 - If you are pitched and going forward and the angle of your pitch changes, Increase I on pitch. If the angle of the tilt is not holding, then increase I for roll.

#3 - Slow oscillations is too low P term

#4 - Punch throttle and cut. If there is movement then add anti-gravity gain.

#5 - If nose wanders without increase in throttle then increase I gain. Similar to #2

#6 - If nose wanders with throttle then increase anti-gravity gain

#7 - Propwash on hard turn. Increase D or Lower P. You will have to try it with both pitch and roll

#8 - Sliding out in turn. Increase Yaw I gain

#9 - Oscillations with high throttle only. Increase TPA

#10 - If you want a more robotic feel to your quad, Increase I for pitch and roll.

3. eleryfpv

eleryfpv New Member

Incredible, thanks so much for the advice, I will give this a go tomorrow and let you know!

Rick M likes this.
  4. mozquito1

mozquito1 Well-Known Member

Your setpoint weight & transition could do with tweaking & your roll & pitch rates are very slow.