Spektrum DX8 First Quadcopter build

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Andy Hallam, Jan 9, 2017.

1. Andy Hallam

Andy Hallam New Member

Hi All.

Very first post to the forum but wondered if anyone can help me with my first venture to a good custom built quadcopter rather than the cheap eBay or Amazon one.

I bought a nitro heli a few years ago and could not get on with it at all. I sold it, kept the DX8 for a future project and now want to build a quadcopter myself.

I have had a lot of experience flying standard off the shelf quads and just need some advice on my next venture.

Looking to build a quadcopter for aerial photography with the ability of return to home, altitude hold, and to have a gimbal that can pan and tilt.

I'd like to used my DX8 but would like some advice on what is the best flight controller to use and how to link the Spektrum DX8 to the flight controller.

I am yet to buy the receiver but seen the AR8000 is a good one to use for this but others might say different.

I have also seen the DJI NAZA M flight controller that does look good.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hallamnet

2. GlassKnees

GlassKnees Well-Known Member

When I started out, I bought an Elev-8 kit from a company called Parallax. (See my avatar). The kit was expensive, but it contained everything I needed except the radio and battery. The online instructions were very helpful. But at the time, the only flight controller was a Hoverfly board that offered only one flight mode. Later, I built a 2nd one, but put an APM 2.6 flight controller on it with an external GPS/compass - this gave me Loiter, Alt Hold, Stabilize, RTL (Return To Launch) flight modes as well as the ability to fly autonomously via waypoint paths I uploaded to the aircraft.