Rotor direction

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Damien Glassy, May 16, 2018 at 8:46 PM.

1. Damien Glassy

Damien Glassy Member

I just started planning to build a quad rotor as model for an even larger one. In an "X" configuration- each opposing rotor spins in the same direction. Does it matter if the two forward rotors spin CW and the aft rotors spin CCW? Eventually I plan to power the rotors with a single gas engine and use pitch control.

2. DrAbsurd

DrAbsurd Well-Known Member

Left Front = CW
    Right Front = CCW
    Left Rear = CCW
    Right Rear = CW

They can be opposite of this but the configuration has to be the same.

when I had trouble remembering which way they all went I just remembered that it looked like it was pulling food into its mouth and butt and throwing it out both sides.

Torc the Sinister likes this.
  3. Damien Glassy

Damien Glassy Member

I appreciate your reply, but it doesn't tell me why it has to be so.... As an engineer, I need to know why....

Dugdog47 likes this.
  4. Dugdog47

Dugdog47 Well-Known Member

There is a science behind it but basically it's like this. The magic smoke makes them fly, if the smoke escapes it won't fly.

5. DrAbsurd

Quads fly on the premise of apposing centrifugal forces to maintain stability. They use speed variation between all motors to give tilt in a specific direction. Eg. Want to flip forward you decrease throttle on the front two motors and increase on the back two. Want to yaw CCW direction then you turn up the motors running in that direction and decrease the other two. With these 2 simple processes the quad can move in all 4 directions(Vertical, Pitch, Roll, and Yaw). Typically there is a combo of CW and CCW on each side. No matter what side you look at it has a CW on one side and CCW on the other. The order may not be important as long as your flight controller is programmed to deal with it. Symmetric is probably the most efficient.

GJH105775 likes this.
  6. GJH105775