holtneil

SamK

GJH105775

Off and on

SamK

holtneil

S

Samuel

Okay, a small update. After a lot of thinking and comparing I am quite sure that the Quanum Nova/Cheerson CX-20 is the way to go. It does everything that is needed (autonomous flying, ability to go high enough up in the air (though changing the antenna might be necessary to get up to 500m), decent safeguards, gps-positioning, open source control systems) for a lot less money than the rest. However, I'll admit that I haven't found too many alternatives, the only other true ones I found being the phantom (more expensive, proprietary parts and control systems) and the Iris+ (almost universally lauded as an advanced drone, a poor choice for complete beginners).

However, even though the Cheerson CX-20 is "easy" to control the general consensus is that drones of that size are not what you should get as your first quadcopter. Using it fully autonomously is not an option but on the other hand my supervisor has shown some skepticism in buying another quadcopter, cheaper as it may be. So before that happens I want to get confirmation that it is necessary to buy and learn on a toy-grade quadcopter before touching the larger one. Also he has been skeptical of the fact that the toy-grade quadcopters got similar flying properties as the full-sized one.