Please help. Cant get motors to spin with remote.

Discussion in 'First Build' started by xChrisKnightx, Dec 8, 2017.

1. xChrisKnightx

xChrisKnightx Member

Hi I'm new to fpv racing and am having a bit of trouble setting up my drone for first flight. I have beta flight installed and can go into it and see that my fc is registering my remote. I can also enter betaflight and turn the motors on and off within the app. My problem is that when trying to make the motors spin with the controller i get nothing to happen. I have no idea what I'm doing within beta flight so I'm sure its some settings I have wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. xChrisKnightx

xChrisKnightx Member

If this helps I am using an spf3 flight controller, fs-i6s remote and am hooked to the fc via ppm

3. SLFLY

SLFLY Active Member

You need to arm the quad first to start the motors.

Have you set up the arming switch in the modes tab in Betaflight ? And choose the correct aux channel ?

Have you turned on PPM in the FS-i6 transmitter menu under 'RX setup' ?

In the FS-i6 menu have you also assigned the aux channels to the switches ?

The switches wont work until you do that.

Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  4. xChrisKnightx

xChrisKnightx Member

I have ppm selected in the transmitter. Im not sure about the arming switch. Im going to check now.

5. xChrisKnightx

xChrisKnightx Member

6. xChrisKnightx

xChrisKnightx Member

is this correct?

7. SLFLY

SLFLY Active Member

The arm mode switch needs setting up. And the flight modes switch too.

Watch this set up tutorial for Betaflight. It goes through every step needed.

Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  8. SLFLY

SLFLY Active Member

This tutorial will help you understand the FS-16 transmitter to set up the switches

9. Jackson

Jackson USA member at large

NO.
    Arm BF .JPG
    You are not in the range in this shot. When you flip the switch does it move into the range?

10. xChrisKnightx

xChrisKnightx Member