My first drone: Syma X8SW

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Paul H., Jun 19, 2018.

1. Paul H.

Paul H. New Member

I'm new to drones and to joysticks (outside of a video game), but saw the Syma X8SW on Amazon as a daily deal for about half price, so indulged my midlife-crisis gene. *Then* I joined up & started reading all the newbie posts, where y'all are advising "Put the expensive one away! Buy a cheapie that you won't mind losing/shredding/drowning!"

Well. Hrm. Too late. Too excited. So, after struggling to put the props on -- is that a common issue w/ Syma? -- it flies. Big drone! Touchy controls! Excellent leaf shredder! Embarrassing (but not damaging) crashes! Finally: I can actually stay off the ground long enough to drain a battery!

Like (evidently) many other Syma owners, had an issue getting the WiFi to work w/ my Motorola cellphone. Modified the network, all that, but resetting the network to factory *finally* worked.

I wish mightily that it had auto-return. I dunno if or when I'll be brave enough to fly by FPV alone, since I hear that there's a 'lag' issue. Not too many wide-open spaces 'round these parts. (North NJ. Don't believe the propaganda: Lotsa woods up here.)

Exit question: How many drones do you all own? Some posters say "many". Why?

2. ArmyVet

ArmyVet Well-Known Member

Welcome!
    5 quads and counting here..........:p

3. RENOV8R

RENOV8R Well-Known Member

Too many

4. Rick M

Rick M Absent-minded professor

The X8SW is a nice flyer and a good quad to learn on, but the WiFi FPV is basically useless. You also run some risk of the FPV signal interfering with the control signal, since they are in the same band. If you ditch the camera you have a wonderful little quad to learn to fly with.