Hi!! Noob here, help please!! I need some advice about motor choice.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Chance, May 28, 2018.

1. Chance

Chance New Member

Hi!! Everyone I need some advice

We are building a f450 quad can someone suggest a good motor/propeller for it we're trying to achieve the longest flight time using a 5000mah 3s battery why this batt. its because it's the only one we can get for a reasonable price here in our country we estimated the quad's total weight to be around 1250 to 1400grams. I have a racestar 2212 1400kv motors here from our first failed attempt hahaha!! yes it is powerful but It's too power hungry so please any advice would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!!!!

2. BL Swagger

BL Swagger Well-Known Member

3. Chance_Ichi

Chance_Ichi Member

Hi! This is me the guy that posted this I can't reply to that account because I used my Facebook to login and the email I used there doesn't exist anymore

Thanks for your response :):)

I looked at the motors that you suggested and according to the chart it gives 708grams of force at 9045 props will this be enough for my quad

4. RENOV8R

RENOV8R Well-Known Member

You want a 2:1 lift ratio so 708 X 4 = 2832g. With a 1400g craft this is very close

5. BL Swagger

Lower KV will be even better.

Maybe you can clear something up for me as well since were on the topic.. using these 810KV motors as an example, is the load current provided in the description for one motor or all four? If it is for one, I would imagine the ESC would become the limiting factor if not above 40A.

(Load current is roughly 13-16A depending on props, according to the chart provide in item description)

6. Chance_Ichi

Chance_Ichi Member

Can you explain why lower kV is better?

7. ringolong

ringolong Well-Known Member

https://ecalc.ch/xcoptercalc.php