Hello from Melbourne Australia

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Steve B, Jul 5, 2018.

1. Steve B

Steve B New Member

Hi, I purchased a Syma X5c clone for my first drone last week. While seriously nothing special it flies steady and it is inexpensive enough that if I destroy it learning to fly no harm done. I eventually would like to have a freestlye drone with all the cool other bits like some nice goggles etc.

At this stage though I am still learning basic flying (can drain a battery without crashing already huzzah!) and I am having a go at adding a few mods to the drone.

I have 3d printed a camera mount that tilts it on a 10 degree upward angle to improve the filming and FVP characteristics. (only flying LOS at the moment), I have just added a longer antenna to get the best range out of the 2.4Ghz transmitter and will replace the battery and camera shortly.

I have also added a high vis paint scheme that is also designed to help me see orientation in flight.

Anyways I am having fun and looking forward to getting into a new hobby. I have also started learning electronics which while useful for this is also fascinating on its own.

dronepaint.jpg

2. Rick M

Rick M Absent-minded professor

Welcome to the forum!

3. ArmyVet

ArmyVet Well-Known Member

Congratulations Mate!
    Welcome and have fun!

4. Steve B

Steve B New Member

Cheers! Tested the new transmitter antenna. 111m before I freaked out and landed it because I was having trouble seeing the quad. Very happy with that! :)

ArmyVet and Rick M like this.
  5. Rick M

Rick M Absent-minded professor

111m is pretty good range for that quad with no major modifications. Throw an AIO fpv camera on or in it and you're off to a start with FPV flying. The Eachine TX03 is pretty cheap and you can set it at 50mw which should give you all the range you can trust the Tx with.

6. Steve B

Steve B New Member