Batteries and Chargers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gene_Drone, Feb 7, 2018.

1. Gene_Drone

Gene_Drone Active Member

I am new to this stuff but have been having a good time flying my H107c in my basement. I have a question about batteries and their chargers. I am using 3.7v 380mAh 25C Li-Poly batteries for my quad. The charger I bought (cheap at $17) is a T453 3.7v RC Battery Charger. After using it to charge 4 to 6 batteries at a time about 10 times, some of the ports stopped working and I am getting inconsistently charged batteries.

What are the attributes that I need to pay attention to when choosing batteries? Voltage? mAh?
    The 25C (what does that connote?). Of course size and dimensions are important. How do I ensure the right size?

And once I decide on the set of batteries, what features do I look for in a charger? I want to charge more than one at a time.

I'm willing to spend the money but don't want to buy batteries or a charger that will not support the H107c.

Thanks in advance.

2. Syntax_Err

Syntax_Err Member

If you multiply the c rating to the amp hour rating you get the amps that your battery can output. mAh is milliamp hour, so if you divide 380 by 1,000 you get the Ah. Thats 0.380 Ah. now if you multiply that by 25(C) you get 9.5 amps. That's the max output when you fly your quad.

now thats not too important for charging, it's just good to know, because some batteries specify the a C charging rate. If they don't, charge at 1 C. However, looking at your charger, It doesn't look like a smart charger, and getting one of those is a great idea. They will micromanage (read: take care of) your battery and you'll notice the lifespan of your batteries go up. As for batteries, I have no experience with your quadcopter, however, those batteries look good.

TL;DR: Batteries are good, get a smart charger. And charge at the correct amps.

Now I'll let someone more qualified take over, as this is where my experience ends.:D

3. Rick M