Another one needs your help

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by LeonTheProf, Jun 27, 2018.

1. LeonTheProf

LeonTheProf Member

Greetings, i'm not new to RC (i own many rc cars) but i'm new in drones. I have a drone with f450 clone frame and naza m v2 controller. i have some issues and i believe that the esc is giving me troubles.

My drone specs are:
    F450 clone frame
    naza m v2 controller
    hobbywing (or hibbyking) 4in1 esc
    1045 propellers
    sunnysky 2212 980kv motors
    storm32 gymbal
    i fly with 3s or 4s, mostly with 3s

Anyway, i'm gonna buy the original dji f450 frame so i can solder the esc's direcly on the frame.
    But beeing noob i really don't know what esc's to buy. 30a? 40a? 50a? I see some options like opto or BEC but i dont really understand them :p :)

So having that specs..what are the appropriate ecs to buy? what should i check first before i buy them?

P.S. i really would like to buy ecs with the connectors built in cause i'm really bad at soldering :p
    Thanks a lot!

2. mozquito1

mozquito1 Well-Known Member

Opto uses jus power in & 2 signal wires or signal & ground. BEC means they have a capacitor & supply 5v out to the fcb if needed or camera if its 5v.
    30amp esc should be ample lol for those motors. Some esc's are blheli which can be accessed through the pass through on the fcb. If they are simonk then they will have to be calibrated before you put them on the quad with a servo tester. They can be calibrated from then on using motors tab. So get blheli to save hassle.

3. mozquito1

Bad @ soldering, rip an old TV or hifi apart & practice. It will save you money.
    & you won't be limited to what you can buy with bullets on.

4. RENOV8R

RENOV8R Well-Known Member