1. NOTICE: We're currently noticing some EMAIL DELIVERY ISSUES to Outlook and Hotmail email addresses. If you're a new member and don't receive your confirmation email, feel free to reach out to us via the contact link at the bottom right of the page.
    Dismiss Notice

Aloha!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by robble, Dec 24, 2016.

1. robble

robble Member

Pretty much a newbie here but I have had a Hubsan x4 for awhile and can fly it "barely ok" around the house. I also recently got a DJI Mavic Pro. However, since the Mavic could be flown by someone using their toes I don't count that as much in the way of flying experience.

After watching way too many DRL videos I'm pretty sure I want to get into FPV racing. I downloaded the DRL simulator on my computer and played around with it using an xbox controller for a couple weeks. Got to where I could make it through all the training courses - although the last one I've had a hard time where you have to fly tightly around a pole. I heard the xbox controller was pure crap for the simulator so I just bought myself a Taranis X9D plus to use with it. My thinking was buy the best controller I could afford since I could use it with anything RC I got in the future. The simulator is MUCH easier with the taranis although that pole still gives me issues.

Anyway, I'm either wanting to purchase an ARTF or build my own quad. I checked out the excellent "How to build your own low cost racing drove" video in the newbie section. Pretty sure I'm capable of building one myself after watching it (I build high end watercooled computers and have soldering experience) but I've more research to do before embarking upon that.

Anyway, going to do some more reading. If anyone wants to link me to some build threads that have a comprehensive parts list of stuff to buy I'd appreciate it.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2016
  2. RENOV8R

RENOV8R Well-Known Member