Aerial Film Drone Build

Discussion in 'Build & Tune' started by Air-Head, May 2, 2018.

1. Air-Head

Air-Head Member

I'm looking to build an Aerial-Film quad-copter, I have limited experience flying and want to build an inexpensive drone. My plan is to build cheap, and then upgrade over time, until the drone has FPV, and a Gimbal with a secondary controller. Is this possible, my hope is to have a drone with someone directing the cam, and myself as the pilot.
    Thanks

2. mozquito1

mozquito1 Well-Known Member

No flying experience then don't skimp on the frame. Buy as robust as you can.
    This will save you money & time. Yes a separate camera system would require its own rx/Tx for the gimbal.
    It could all be done on one system with sbus/ibus, upto 18 channels.
    What Tx do you have or intend to own.

3. Air-Head

Air-Head Member

At the moment I have a cheap fly-sky controller. Could the fly sky controller do the gimbal and another controller fly the drone? I already have a 550 quadcopter frame with gimbal mount coming, I hope it is strong enough to take a few hits. My prior drone was a 250 kit for 60 bucks, and it flew pretty well for the price, even though it only hit 20mph at max in an open field. Thanks for the advice, do you have any motors for under 40 bucks that would be able to take the payload of around 800 grams?

4. Jackson

Jackson USA member at large

Which one?

5. RENOV8R

RENOV8R Well-Known Member

What flight controller do you intend to use?

6. Air-Head

Air-Head Member

I plan on using a cc3d flight controller, here is a link to the actual frame I purchased. However, would it be better to save up a little and buy a better flight controller?
    My controller is a FS-T6, and already linked with an old receiver.

Thanks

7. Air-Head

Air-Head Member

8. ringolong

ringolong Well-Known Member