To buy a Mavic Pro or wait?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Maloley11, Jul 20, 2017.

1. Maloley11

Maloley11 New Member

Hi Guys,

I've got a Phantom 3 Standard at the moment and thinking of upgrading to a Mavic Pro. I was wondering if I should maybe wait and see if DJI release a new drone? I've read a few things that perhaps a Mavic Standard or something could come out. Do you think its worth waiting?

Roggy.d likes this.
  2. esoterik1967

esoterik1967 Member

Mavic Pro? I am new to Quadcopters but familiar with the Bicycle world. Any relation?

3. QuadKid

QuadKid Noth'in Like a Flat Top

4. LoneRCRanger

LoneRCRanger Well-Known Member

In our new "Drone Club", We have several members who own Phantom 3's. A couple want to get the Mavic Pro, but are leary about the price vs. performance over say the Phantom 4.

5. QuadKid

I have 2 Phantom 3 Pro's and have flown a friends Mavic a couple times .
    Things I like about the Mavic

1. Portability.
    2. Sport Mode.
    3. Obstacle Avoidance.
    4. Price Point

Things I don't like about the Mavic

1 Only 2 Axis Camera Gimble
    2. No Expandable HDMI Port for FPV to my Fat Shark Goggles.
    3. The Go App Mavis is very complicated and has many gliches ( Like flying a Main Frame Computer )
    4. Like any other product I would give them a couple of years to work the bugs out with the constant updates required.

All in all The P3P is a very stable camera platform.

6. QuadKid

The P4 is out of production now ( FW is still supported by DJI ) the new 4's are P4 Advanced & P4 Pro

7. ringolong

ringolong Well-Known Member

You could be waiting a long time. I would get it, enjoy it, and update it if the needs arises.

8. Maloley11

Maloley11 New Member

Thanks for your information guys! Going to stick with the Phantom 3 for a while and decide between one of the P4 models and the Mavic Pro :)

9. ringolong

ringolong Well-Known Member