Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Budsy, Jun 30, 2017.

1. Budsy

Budsy Active Member

I've wanted to get a quad for a while with a camera. Finally broke in with a Syma X5SW

Lots of fun and I've been learning and getting better. But now I want something that can withstand the wind a little better and get better video. FPV no longer is important as I don't use it like I thought I would.

I was looking at the Syma X8 series, maybe the X8SC and then possibly getting a gopro mount for it to get high quality video. For under $150 it seems it can't be beat. BUT I'm open to suggestions.

I'm just not ready to drop hundreds on a high quality drone or custom build.

2. dragger201

dragger201 If it ain't broke, don't fix it??? You kidding?

That's a good quad, but would suggest you get a "G" model. Stronger motors, despite what the nay sayers say.

3. Rick M

Rick M Absent-minded professor

I agree, and the G series camera isn't a GoPro by any means, but it's not bad at all for the money. I've seen some very impressive photos and video shot with this quad. If you live in the USA, you can get the X8G on Amazon for as low as $96, and the X8HG for $120-130. I don't think I'd bother with the air pressure altitude hold for the extra money, but that's me.

The G series motors ARE different. Whether they perform better is the point of contention. I don't have a useful opinion on this because I don't personally fly an X8G or HG. A couple of people who I have generally found to be very reliable say with certainty they are stronger motors in terms of performance.

4. Budsy

Budsy Active Member

Thank you for the replies. Do the HG & G both have the stronger motor or just the G?

I kind of liked the one button takeoff and landing but on the SC. Seemed like it would be a good feature but maybe not that important. Still learning :)

5. Rick M

The motors are different for both the HG and the G. FWIW, you can put the G series motors in any X8.

6. Jackson