First DIY Propeller Balance

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by irishluck, Oct 17, 2015.

1. irishluck

irishluck Well-Known Member

So this is my first attempt at making a magnetic propeller balance jig.
    Not bad I dont think.

Just need to figure out what to use in the center to keep the propeller tight and what not.
    I tried to use a pen cap but cant get it centered 100% to get glue in there. Any thought?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

GJH105775 likes this.
  2. GJH105775

GJH105775 Avid Linux User, and U.S. Air Force 1C6 Moderator

I made one that is not magnetic, but similar, it has 4 washers that the steel rod sits on. You should be able to use the prop adapters that come with them to get it close as possible.

3. irishluck

These carbon fiber props that I got didn't come with adapters. I think there a DJI props.

4. GJH105775

Oh haha, good luck with that then, I don't think your balancer will work if the hole does not go all the way through.

5. irishluck

Yeaaaa thats what kinda sux. I think I kind of made something that will work.

At the time I bought these props, the motors I had would only allow these type of props. So of coarse i have like 4 sets of them lol

6. holtneil

holtneil Well-Known Member Moderator

Hi if you have an old motor you can use , just remove all the workings then put motor back together and use this to balance the props

HDtallrider likes this.
  7. irishluck

I do, but the motor shaft is bent lol
    Actually need to make a thread for my first major crash lol

Had to get hobbyking to pay for my quadcopter cause of the battery. brand new battery failed in midair and crashed my x666 to the ground

GJH105775 likes this.
  8. GJH105775

They actually paid for your quad? That is a first hahahaha.

9. irishluck

Oh yea.

I bought a brand new 5000mAh turnigy battery. Was flying it for about 5 minutes about 50ft up and I noticed my lights were cutting out and as I was