Drone Registering

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Matto_Catto, May 22, 2018.

1. Matto_Catto

Matto_Catto Member

Hello everyone! I am very new to drone's as I have never owned one (do the cheap toy ones like Sky Viper count?). So, I did my research, I found a nice drone to start with called the DJI Spark. I travel a lot and use cameras so I figured why not get more angles. I am buying the fly more kit as well because the battery life isn't very long. Anyway, I discovered something that drones over 0.55 pounds need to be registered with the FAA. So, how long does this take? I am aware of the 5$ fee that I will need to pay (recreational use, not commercial). Do I just type the info in the box and then poof I'm good to go or what?

2. KentA

KentA Well-Known Member

You will need to wait until you know the serial number on your Spark, but then you can have your number & a registration card to print within minutes.

Welcome the forum & the world of unmanned flight.

3. mozquito1

mozquito1 Well-Known Member

If the serial number come to the UK then I would put it on but have it coverd with tape. Only ppl that warrant it get to see it.
    You maybe in a park one day & the local nut job who likes to fly over airports see's your number. Or a neighbour who doesn't like your hobby but wants you to get into trouble. It may not happen to you but identity theft happens everyday.
    I got a letter one day about 15 years ago saying I had books that where twenty somthing days overdue. I asked the wife had she used my library card that I hadn't seen for the previous 5 years. The answer was no. Eleven books in all at a cost of £270 which they tried to bill me for.