DarkMax issue help please

Discussion in 'Build & Tune' started by Scott Faust, Dec 28, 2017.

1. Scott Faust

Scott Faust Member

I recently purchased the quad and have it bound to my receiver. I'm fairly new to quads and setting them up. However, it runs perfectly fine on 3s, but the moment i try and use a 4s battery the motors work and then power down and quad shuts off. From what I seen on youtube and guides i have it setup like most do and I know this quad is suppose to handle 6s batteries. Can anyone help?

2. Rick M

Rick M Absent-minded professor

What's the C rating on the 4S batteries you're using?

3. mozquito1

mozquito1 Well-Known Member

Basically means burst current.
    But still carried on whatever voltage the battery is. It will drain the battery quicker but delivers more power. = more fun.
    Just Google lipo C rating. It explains it so much more better than me. Lol

4. mozquito1

Sorry I thought you asking what it means. My bad.

5. mozquito1

But I would have thought with 6S compatibility
    Anything below 90C would be safe,
    Especially a 4S. But 6S with say upto a 140C rate may be pushing it with spikes.

6. Rick M

One of the possibilities is that the C rating on his 4S batts is low and when he hits throttle hard the batteries can't deliver the current being asked for. I've seen/heard of cases where that caused a cut-out. Just one thing to consider/eliminate as a possible cause. Since he's a fairly new flyer it's not likely he's punching out that hard, but you never know.

7. Scott Faust

Scott Faust Member

The battery I have is a
    Acehe 4S 14.8V 1300mAh 75C High Rated Lipo Battery.

8. Scott Faust

Scott Faust Member